In my kitchen

img_2246

Since my last post, I have been doing a lot of culinary prepping! When we had all the kids at home, I learned to grind grain for all of our breads and baked goods. I soaked flours and blends for pancakes, waffles and anything I found to set up the night or more before.

Since we moved, I haven’t done any of that often enough to warrant pulling the grain mill out and had gone back to using shelf flours for sourdough and such.

Anyway, that is something I’m setting the kitchen back up for and am hoping to get back to a weekly baking day. I want to make everything from whole grain biscuits to pita pockets and pizza crusts. This takes a lot more order and focused organization than I have had in far too long.

Other things I’m making lately: (some I’ve been doing for years and others I’m just now trying!)

  • Kefir, milk and water grains
  • Kombucha, made with green tea, black tea or both and flavored with ginger and/or fruit
  • Cultured vegetables
  • Grain free recipes
  • Homemade pasta sauce over gluten-free pasta
  • Bean and vegetable stew using speckled butter beans I put in the freezer last year
  • Crockpot crowder peas with kefir skillet cakes
  • Homemade salad dressings
  • Green juices and smoothies
  • Nutrition shakes 
  • Soups and stews

So far, I’ve completed most of my inventory and set-up goals. This has made such a difference in my productivity. Here’s what I did:

  1. Cleaned, organized and listed everything in the freezers, fridge and pantry/shelves.
  2. Stacked books to the left of my desk for easy grabbing when I have a few minutes to read. I have books here on sprouting, eating for health and healing, plant-based cooking, a couple of southern classics and one on eating from the garden. I could spend hours reading these and taking notes!
  3. Started another notebook to keep close by so I can keep all my ideas, planning, goals, and teaching topics in one place.

What I’m working on:

Days of the week kitchen schedule. Something with a day for baking, fermenting/feeding schedule, make-ahead basics and so on. I’ve filled in a few things. Monday’s are quick because our son has  Scout meetings. Wednesday is dinner at church and I want to start taking something to contribute. Thursdays may be men’s meetings and Fridays will likely be free days. That used to be our homemade pizza night…

Getting the practical tasks done is an important area. We need to have the oven fixed, the microwave removed, and others like those.

Getting some main dishes or meals in the freezer. I’d like to have a few soups and stews in 1-2 serving containers. Bags of spaghetti sauce (I’ll eat mine over zucchini noodles) and easy to get and heat snacks.

I won’t share my entire -slightly extensive – Master task list but will let you know how the present plan grows. 🙂

How are things in your kitchen? Is there anything you’d like to do, make, or master? If so, what are they? What steps will you take or plan to set them in motion?

I’ll close with a quote I’m fond of and have no idea who wrote:

Bless the food before us, 

The family beside us, 

And the LOVE between us. Amen. 

 

 

 

One thought on “In my kitchen”

  1. How are things in my kitchen? Tonight I am watching my two lovely older girls putter around in there, creating yummy healthy snacks for me and Caroline…it is so joyous here tonight, I have missed them so much. Zoe created exquisite two-ingredient truffles made with 70 percent dark chocolate cacao and coconut milk. Chloe shared some tasty bites of Mexican crumbling cheese. Caroline and I are so thankful to have our “missing angels” back home. I am so in awe, Sandy, of your detailed and perfect plan! THIS IS WHAT I MEAN WHEN I SAY THIS IS A PART OF YOUR LOVELY DESTINY. You have all the knowledge and experience you need to create an amazing, helpful book, course, and workshop on healthy living. Do it, girl!

Leave a Reply

