Set the Scene

 

When my anxious thoughts multiply within me,

Your consolations delight my soul.

Psalm 94:19

In this world, there will be trouble.

There will be war and rumors of war.

There will be sabotage and suffering.

There will be trials and tribulation.

To be honest, it is hard for me to even type those words. People disagree with me all the time but I believe there is power in our words. Our words can bless or curse and I choose the blessing side of things as much as I manage! Even if something is a truth and fact… if it is something I don’t want, I try to not speak it.

Many years ago, through reading, research and more, I started learning to not focus on feelings and for where to turn when the world goes crazy.

I thank the Lord for showing us the Amway business in 1990. The group of people we were a part of became like family and there was so much growth in our lives during that time. One thing I loved was a highly recommended book list that I believe I read every single book from! One of the books was, “Hung by the Tongue” by Francis P. Martin. Also, “The Tongue, A Creative Force,” by Charles Capps. These were life changing to me and I have them on my Kindle to read again!

We aren’t presently active in Amway and haven’t been in many years and we have lost contact with all of the group with the exception of a couple of families but that book list was fantastic. It is where I found some of my ALL time favorite reads on positive living based on biblical truths.

Back to the reason for this post!

What I am learning is … what this world gives does not need to cause anxiety or fear. The Bible says:

“These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may  have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Spoken by Jesus.

We can settle our hearts and set our minds on what He says.

3 Ways to Set the Scene for Peace when anxiety comes:

  1. Compare your thoughts to what the Bible says. Every need is met somewhere between Genesis and Revelation.
  2. Create a corner, space or spot of comfort.  If it is cold, light the fireplace. This alone can do wonders to offer a sense of calm. Additional ideas: add some essential oils to a diffuser or blend some into some coconut oil and use in an oil burner.
  3. Drink something warm and/or wonderful. A hot cup of tea, hot lemon/ginger/ honey water or warmed milk (we use almond, cashew, or almond milk) with a spoon of vanilla extract swirled in and a shake of cinnamon on the top.

I peter 5 7

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

