As May ends. . . & 3 Juices!

I end this month rich with birthdays (myself, my MIL, and yesterday my daughter as well as a precious friend- 4!) and lots of activity. End of school year events and celebrations for our youngest son and for our two oldest grandlittles kept us busy. I’ve also been working a lot with my husband on the gardens and we have been amazed at the progress. I have ideas dancing all through my head for juices, smoothies, salads and soups! 

I weighed in last at 203! I need to see what happens when I spend a day eating almost everything I never eat! We made my daughter’s favorite dishes for her 19th birthday yesterday and I ended up eating some of all of them! She is a vegetarian so there was no meat or much protein but lots of carbs! We had homemade macaroni and cheese, crispy, oven bake red potatoes, two pasta salads, a HUGE rainbow salad with homemade, healthy dressing and butterfinger cake… and cheesecake. I’m going to stop now before my body drags me back into the kitchen and flings me face first into the chocolate cake, soaked in sweetness and topped with whipped cream and broken candy bars! 

Pulling myself together to finish this post and catch back up: 

I hope I am not sharing something I already posted here but I do not remember so here it is: 

Many (if not most) juices give a LOT of energy. This is excellent for a day filled with food prep, cleaning, gardening, yard work and whatever else fills the hours. It is not so helpful before bed – so, I sought something for the evenings we drink a juice between our earlier than ever dinners and bedtime. 

Juice #1:

I found this and loved it: {Sharing as is from The Juice Diet by Christinne Bailey} I’ve had this book for some time and I see when sharing the link that it is no longer available from Amazon other than various sellers for more than I paid for it. 

lettuce and apple sleepy head

This is a perfect drink for the day’s end, since lettuce contains soporific compounds which help induce sleep. Best sipped after dinner, the juice also contains pectin (from the apples) and digestive enzymes (from the pineapple)that help eliminate toxins that have built up during the day.

1 apple, plus extra to decorate

4 oz. romaine lettuce

4 1/2 oz. pineapple, peeled

Juice all the ingredients. Dilute with water, if desired, and serve decorated with a slice of apple. 

Health Benefits

Water-rich romaine lettuce is wonderfully hydrating. It bursts with antioxidants, including carotenoids and vitamin C, as well as fiber and folate, making it a great heart-healthy vegetable that helps prevent the oxidation of cholesterol and reduce levels of damaging homocysteine. Its high potassium content can help keep blood pressure at a healthy level. 

Nutritional analysis per serving: Calories 97kcal . Protein 1.8g . Carbohydrates 21.9 [of wich sugars 20.6g] . Fat 1g. 

Juice #2:

I had this juice early in the day the other day and it was lovely: Here are the book notes and recipe from The Big Book of Juices and Smoothies by Natalie Savona. 

apple cooler

1 cucumber

2 apples

4 sprigs of fresh mint

1/2 inch (1 cm) ginger root) 

A wonderful summer drink. You could even add a splash of ginger ale or fizzy water. 

Nutritients

Beta-carotene, folic acid, vitamin C, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, sulphur

Good for energy, detoxing, somewhat for immunity, digestion and skin. 

Juice #3

Today’s juice!

apple cleanser from The Big Book of Juices and Smoothies

2 apples

2 kale leaves (I used more bec/ I didn’t have enough cucumber so I used more of this)

1 stick of celery

1 long cucumber (only had about 1/4th of a long English cucumber)

1 beet (beetroot)

Notes from the book: The fruitiness of the apples offsets the more challenging taste of the greens to produce this beautifully red  detoxifying juice. Nutrients – Beta-carotene, folic acid, vitamin B3, Vitamin C, calcium, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosphorus, potassium, sulphur

Good for energy, great for detoxing, very good for immunity, good for digestion and very good for skin. 

Leave a Reply

