Update

Tomorrow marks one exact month we have been moving and settling in has finally begun. There is still a lot to do but three families are nestling in abodes and progress is finally visible. This just to say that I will hopefully have a bit more time for keeping up here and other online places now. 

My healthy living/weight loss journey has been amazing some days and all over the place others. I don’t recall the last weigh in here but I lost to 211 and am back up to 213! A process, a process… an ongoing lifestyle change. 

I have been making very healthy salad dressings every other day or so for some time. I’m still looking out for new recipes to try and tweak but I have a base I’ve had fun being creative with. We have poured this over salads, sandwiches (mainly making these with cabbage, lettuce, or collard leaves and using them for wraps as well) and all kinds of vegetables. 

I need to work on the amounts. I was making one glass salad dressing bottle at a time but we are using it so much for so many that I’ve changed to make two to four bottles at a time. 

I’ll try to share this recipe of sorts with a two bottle amount in mind to make it a little easier. You can probably use half the ingredients for one bottle or double it for four.

Sandy’s Salad Dressing

1 cup OACV (organic apple cider vinegar)

1/8th to 1 cup olive oil (the different amounts are so widely different bec in my kitchen it totally depends on who is eating. For myself and my husband, we use a lot less but some need the extra fat and prefer the taste and texture on their salad. )

1-8 cloves of garlic, peeled

1 nub of fresh ginger

Sea salt to taste

pepper

lots and lots of fresh cilantro

Nutritional yeast (approximately 1/4 to 1/2 cup) 

Other spices and seasonings to taste – this is where I go a little wild depending on the mood, day, etc., 

I also throw in all sorts of produce … a mango or two, sweet peppers, carrots, spinach, oranges, grapefruits, lemons, or limes, turmeric, fresh juices, kiwi’s, jalepeno nibs, and more. 

Just throw everything into a high powered blender and blend until the consistency you like best. 

A great help as of lately has been to do more preparing ahead as I’ve learned to do with so many things. I use a paring knife to get all the peel off of grapefruits, oranges, lemons and limes and put them in a container in the fridge. When they get cold, I toss them in the blender and make an amazing drink. 

I also bag or put in containers pre-washed, spun, cut and ready carrots and celery in bags for two of my daily juices and carrots and cucumber in two bags for the other daily juicing. Beyond this, I have a gallon sized bag of various vegetables ready to put right into the juicer for when I make new versions. This is going well!

EXCITING NEWS… our organic gardening is finally underway! So far, we have two full rows of rainbow chard seeds planted, one full row of yellow squash, a full row of watermelon and a tray of … I don’t recall what. 

I will end sharing a link to a juicing Spring Clean that was over but has been extended. I didn’t read my emails in time to do it the first time and probably won’t totally this time but I think I will do what of it I see myself managing. Here it is: 

http://www.bigjuicespringclean.com/

Have you watched “Hungry for Change?” I have watched and LOVED Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead with Joe Cross and several others but the two I listed here are at the TOP of my favorites list! 

 

3 thoughts on “Update”

Leave a Reply

